Fantasy Football, Part Two

I blogged here about the Fantasy Football activity from Yummy Math.

To prep for the next class, I chose 4 players for each of the positions we previously wrote equations for: quarterback, wide receiver, tight end, and running back.  I pulled each player’s stats from Week 1 and created a table for each position. Here’s the quarterback table:

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 7.58.35 PM

I posted the information to my website with these directions:

Draft!
  • Each table group needs to come up with a team name.
  • There are 16 players available representing 4 positions.
  • You must draft one player per position.
  • Download the pdf below to see the stats for each player. All scores/stats are based on Week 1 of the 2015-2016 season.
  • Use the equations from the Fantasy Football activity to calculate the points associated with each player.
  • You will have 10 minutes in the “War Room” to strategize and plan your draft.
  • Teams will be called at random and given two minutes to make a selection.
  • The team who drafts the players with the highest combined fantasy points wins!
Another teacher came to my class to help me run this draft – he acted as the commissioner. He had pulled pictures of each player ahead of time and created a slide within a Powerpoint presentation as each group made their selection. Here’s an example:
Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 8.04.15 PM
This was much better than trying to record each pick on the board. Being super creative, he also quickly found theme music based on each group’s name!
To keep this math-focused, and to avoid a football fanatic having an advantage, each group had to state their draft pick and the total number of fantasy points based on the equation.
At the end of the draft, thanks to the commissioner, I had a completed Powerpoint with every pick – labeled with the appropriate group name and fantasy points.
Almost all my kids actively participated – it was loud, fun, and filled with math talk! Win!
Next time I will not let the kids pick their own groups. The kids who are football fanatics and currently play in fantasy leagues grouped themselves together. Prior football knowledge was only minimally helpful since I required each group to state the fantasy football points when drafting.  But next time I will ask if anyone in the class thinks of themselves as a fantasy football expert and I will place one in each group. I think spreading out the “experts” will help spread out the excitement.
One thing I didn’t anticipate was what to do if a group got the math wrong. Do they lose their pick? Do they have to take a zero for that round?  In the moment, I just had the group re-do the math.  A few of my kids suggested if a group makes a math error, that group gets the player with the least amount of points in whatever category they were trying to draft a player from.
As I mentioned before, I am doing this lesson/activity during “Flex”.  This group of kids will rotate to a different teacher next week.  I’ll see a new group of kids on Wednesday.  It looks like I will have three days with my new group. I will use the activity from Yummy Math on Day 1 and the draft described above on Day 3. I’ve got something else in the planning stages for Day 2!

 

Leave a Reply

